Before Steal the Baking Blog – Banana Cupcakes With Peanut Butter Cream Cheese Frosting

I had some nice ripe bananas sitting on the kitchen counter, so I just knew I had to do something with them. I found this recipe for Banana cupcakes with a peanut butter frosting on BonApetit.com, so that’s exactly what I made. This time I don’t have as many pictures because I had company over and I was making dinner (spaghetti with Italian chicken sausage), so I really only have pictures of the finished product. You may recognize the pictures as what I use for the blog photo masthead (or whatever it’s called).

I’d like to think that this will be the last time that I have to apologize for blurry or out of focus pictures taken by my phone, but it probably won’t be. Still, as I’ve mentioned already I’m trying to switch over to my dedicated camera and those shots already look waaaaay better. Just wait and see.

If you look at the photo above you’ll see that I made the same mistake with the frosting that I did on the previous cake I posted. That is, I beat the frosting with using the beater blade and not the whisk attachment. I’ll get it eventually. The frosting was creamy and tasted really nyum anyway. I gave some to my daughter’s friends who were over at the house who had to put up with wondering what I had been up to for the previous weeks smelling cakes and cupcakes and not getting to even sample a single bite. I’ve gotta say that they tasted great. Peanut butter and banana is super tasty. The only thing that might have made this any better would have been a little chocolate, maybe some chocolate chips or one of those mini chocolate squares tossed in the center, hell, you want to make this the best ever? Throw a Reese’s peanut butter cup mini inside, that would make this too awesome.

Again, I was hoping to work on icing using a bag, but this was definitely not the right consistency, so I just used a spoontula to lay it down on the cupcake.

I went back to the 3/4 measuring cup to drop the batter into the foil cups to give them some uniformity. I’ve since placed an order for a little tool that should help make this easier, but I’ll discuss that a little more when it shows up.

You may have noticed, if you looked at the recipe that I deviated just slightly in that I did not use peanuts on top. I think that might have been pretty nice, but I didn’t have any and it’s too hot outside to be making extra trips just for one little thing, so I decided to pass up on them. I don’t think they were really missed anyway.

Yup, that was good. I would like definitely make these bad boys again, maybe I’ll take my own advice and drop a little present inside next time. Until next time, thanks for even taking a look at this and doing whatever it is you do with it.

P.S. The reason I make mention of these as existing before the blog is because I have posted these pictures elsewhere on the net and I don’t want to be accused of stealing them or otherwise, so rather than go through that I just mention it this way. I’ve got one more cake to post and then we’ll be all current.

 

 

One thought on “Before Steal the Baking Blog – Banana Cupcakes With Peanut Butter Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

