Snickerdoodle Cupcakes With Cinnamon Buttercream Frosting

I’m now only a week behind. If I actually cranked this out, I’m not used to the wordpress feel of things, I could get up to speed in a little bit, since I am familiar with that layout. (Breaks away from this post to set up Windows Live Writer…) That’s beside the point, though. This time out I decided to try something that someone had given me not that long ago: A Snickerdoodle cupcake. I thought that thing was rather delicious, so I did my best to try and copy it. I returned to the Just A Pinch website where I found this recipe with a cinnamon buttercream frosting. I also decided that this time I would try and pipe the frosting on top. This was the best result:

IMG_0051

The rest were nowhere near this good looking, if you can even call this good looking. By the way, this is a camera shot, not my phone and I figured out how to do the macro (I think it’s macro) shot after taking about a dozen of blurry shots that got deleted.

Anyway, you can see some dry ingredients getting mixed up below. Flour cinnamon, salt, baking powder. The only variation I made from the original recipe was by necessity because it called for 1.5 cups of cake flour and 1.5 cups of all-purpose flour. It just so happened that I only had 1 cup of cake flour, so I just went 1 cup of that and 2 cups of all-purpose. My cupcakes were no worse for wear.IMG_0028

Creaming the butter:

IMG_0029

Adding the eggs one at a time. I read that the best way to do this is to actually add them in separately, as in white then yolk, repeat until done, but I don’t typically have time for that, though I tried this time to try and make these as great as possible.IMG_0030

Add the flour and dry ingredient mixture, it’s starting to come together.IMG_0031

Ladies and gentlemen, I think we have ourselves some cupcakes. I’m down to some leftover Valentine’s themed cupcake liners, so that’s what I used. Get over it.IMG_0032

Close up weird angle.

IMG_0034

The recipe says this would make 24 cupcakes, but I think I could’ve made somewhere closer to 28, but rather than make four more I decided to make some supersized cupcakes in these ramekins that I bought a while back, but never got around to using. Essentially, they’re personal cakes, but whatever you call them they came out tasting better than I ever would have hoped. By this time, you really should be noticing some sort of theme in my kitchen-ware. Red mixer, red mixing bowls, red silicone cupcake mold, red ramekins. Yup.

IMG_0035

The ramekins came out of the oven and were perfectly cooked, the top outer edge was a little bit crusty, the center perfectly cooked, with the buttercream frosting on top these thing were delightful.

 IMG_0053

I baked them at the same temperature and I just kept a close eye on them not knowing how long they would take to bake. I used a toothpick to check for doneness and took them out to cool maybe a minute early thinking that the residual heat would finish baking them. I ate it straight out of the ramekin with a fork. It was a hit at home and at work and I will return to these. The lady was not interested when I told her what I was making, but after smelling them she was intrigued and she ended up loving them.

My son had his without the frosting and said that they taste like the cinnamon streusel cakes that Hostess makes in the small 100 calorie packs. He was right, but make no mistake this was far from 100 calories.

What I learned from this:

  • Piping is hard, getting these cupcakes to look as good as the one in the photo was a real challenge. The ones not included in photos just look like they fell on the floor and got smothered and ruined the original piping. First time, though, so I think I did ok enough considering.
  • They say butter should be at room temperature, but when it’s super hot outside even with the A/C on inside butter melts pretty fast, so as a friend recommended, put it in the microwave for 10 seconds and work it from there. I think my butter was a little too far gone to fix the buttercream, so I ended up working some butter flavored shortening in to add some stability. Maybe in reality I should have done half and half. I’ll try that the next time.

Hey, thanks for looking at this. I’ve got a bundt cake for you next time, nothing too fancy, but I bought a bundt pan and wanted to use it and this recipe fit the bill. Thanks and catch you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

