Baking the Right Way

I thought that I had been doing a pretty okay job the past couple of months at baking up some sweets for friends and family. Turns out that it probably wasn’t as good as it could’ve been. What I mean to say is that I recently made one of my fairly routine trips to Home Goods, where I find a lot of my tools and picked up a couple of things notably an 8” Calphalon bread knife for $17, which I saw on Amazon for like $35. I thought that was my better purchase that night, but what turned out to be even more important was the oven thermometer I picked up for about $7. I popped it into the oven and since I didn’t have anything to bake left it there for a few days. Then I got the request for some Mexican chocolate chunk cookies from my girl so that she could share at work, I set my oven to 350 degrees to preheat it and when I peeked inside to see what the thermometer was reading I was startled because the temperature was about 50 degrees off! So, something was going inside my oven and now I’ve got a more accurate reading (assuming the thermometer is accurate), so I can continue with baking according to schedule. So, learn from my mistake and get yourself an oven thermometer, they’re fairly inexpensive (under $10) and helpful beyond belief.

Leave a Reply

