Grilled Peanut Butter & Jelly Sandwich

So, a new friend of mine mentioned this to me a short time ago and I decided I’d give it a go. (Shout out to Hillary!) Rather than just keep it to myself, I figured I’d at least share the fruits of my labor. This isn’t really a recipe so much as it is just something I was messing around with. To be honest, I’m not entirely sure that I even made it right, if there is a right way to make one of these.

20120827_225950

I started out with some butter on bread, like so:

20120827_224818

I threw the bread in a skillet and gave it that nice golden brown look that you know and love from your average grilled cheese sandwich. After that I took out my peanut butter and grape jelly, I tried to make this as healthy as I could. Maybe that was my downfall.This thing is supposed to be all about guilty pleasure and indulgence.

20120827_225522

I spread the PB&J on the bread, closed up the sandwich and threw it down on the skillet for a little bit longer to heat up the filling. Removed and cut for a quick picture and then threw it down my face hole.

20120827_225816

When I heard tale of this sandwich I just knew I had to try it out. It was pretty good. I think I need to give it another go and see if I can’t make it a little better, but all in all it’s a tasty twist on a classic treat. Normally I do PB&J on a couple of Eggo waffles which is just about my most favorite thing in the world, but this was worth a go. Apparently, this is a thing in Indiana, so if you’ve ever tried this or know of a way for me to make it better I’m all ears. Take care. See you next time.

20120827_225922

Leave a Reply

