Pink Lemonade Cake With Lemonade Buttercream Icing

While at work the other day I saw an old Better Homes & Gardens from May 2012 laying around and decided to thumb through it. In it I found a recipe for the titular cake and instantly knew that it was what I wanted to make this week. And that’s exactly what I did. I wish there was a more interesting story behind this, but alas, there’s not. So, earlier in the day I hit the store (actually two because the first store I went to didn’t have lemon extract nor Marshmallow crème) to get everything that I needed for this very pink cake.

IMG_0260

For the record, this was a straight copy of the recipe by Karen Tack, with the exception of the icing because I just halved what was called for since I didn’t need to ice three cakes.

You can see the cake I tried to make on BHG.com, though in order to see the entire recipe, I believe you need to become a member. Either way, I’ll detail my pseudo variation of it below.

Pink Lemonade Cake

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 4 eggs (room temperature for 30 minutes)
  • 3 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups sugar
  • red food coloring
  • 1 1/3 cups of milk
  • 1/4 cup frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed
  • 1 teaspoon pure lemon extract

IMG_0240

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a pair of nine inch round cake pans with parchment paper (also known as baking paper) and grease them up. Lightly flour the pans, to make it easier to remove cakes.

2. In a medium size bowl stir together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set those aside.

3. Cream your butter using a mixer. Add sugar 1/4 cup at a time. Add 1/8 of a teaspoon to butter mix, I used about 15 drops or so, to make a pink colored batter. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing  well after each one is added. You should get a pretty in pink batter that looks something like this:

IMG_0246

4. In another bowl mix your lemonade concentrate, milk, and lemon extract. Alternate adding lemonade and flour mixtures into butter mixture. Mixing well.

5. Remove half of cake batter (4 cups) and put into cake pan. With remaining mixture add red food coloring until you get a color that suits you, I used another 15-20 drops to get a nice dark pink batter. Pour into cake pan.

IMG_0247

6. Place in over and bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes, or until cake tester comes out clean.

IMG_0248

Now, if you want to do what I did and complete the whole lemonade theme we’ve got going on here’s what to do for the lemonade buttercream frosting.

Lemonade Buttercream

(Half mixture, for original recipe double all ingredients.)

This half mixture is more than sufficient to ice the two layers of cakes made above.

  • 1 1/2 cups of unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 16 ounce jar of marshmallow crème, or if you’re like me and your local store doesn’t carry them that big use two of the seven ounce jars, or apparently they come in 13 ounce jars as well, that’ll probably suffice
  • 1/8 cup of frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed
  • 1/2 cup of powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure lemon extract

1. Start by beating your butter.

2. Add in marshmallow crème and lemonade concentrate, beat until smooth.

3. Mix in powdered sugar and lemon extract. Whisk until light and fluffy.

IMG_0251

4. Ice your cakes to the best of your ability. Me? This was the best I could do. Still only my third or fourth real try at icing a cake. I think I’m not making my buttercream correctly, but I don’t really know what it’s supposed to look like, so I’m out of luck there. As are the people forced to eat this thing.

IMG_0252

The two tone pink layers makes it look real pretty, though, this picture doesn’t show it off very well. Blame the flash, the picture at the top of the page displays it a little better.

IMG_0256

The cake is ok, the complaint I got was that it was too dense. I thought it was something I did, but if you refer to the picture on the BHG site, that also looks a little dense. If I could make a better spongy cake this would have been awesome. The density makes it a little hard to enjoy. Somewhere along the way I did something wrong. Ah well. Another time.

IMG_0261

What I did like was that it has a very sour flavor to it, the lemon extract gives it some pucker punch. Overall, not bad. I’d love to be able to try this again with a better cake consistency. I think it would be delightful as a summer cake when lemonade is the order of the day.

That’s all I got for you this week, I hope you enjoyed reading this and maybe if you decide to make this share what you did differently and how it came out, I’m always interested in making something better. Until next time, take care.

Leave a Reply

