White Chocolate and Green Tea Cake

I’ve been eyeing a couple of chocolate and green tea cakes for a while waiting for the perfect time to bake one up. I thought today would be that day, but I then came up with the ‘novel’ idea of making a white chocolate and green tea cake. When I popped that into a search engine I came up with quite a few hits, so I’m not as innovative as I thought, but I still had a little bit of trouble finding exactly what I wanted to do, so after a lot of searching I went in between two very nice recipes to make a great cake.

IMG_0313

My intentions were to make this a marble cake, but after making my batter I quickly realized I didn’t do it right, but I did what I could and it’s delicious either, so whatever. Here are the two recipes that I used for inspiration, one actually is a white chocolate and green tea cake with proper measurements using weight, which I could not follow for two reasons: 1. I don’t have a scale, so that’s probably an automatic disqualification. 2. It’s baked as a loaf style cake and I wanted a bundt, which needed to be bigger. That recipe is here on: LaTartineGourmand

The second recipe is of a simple white chocolate bundt cake found on Jenny’s Cookbook. Essentially what I did was make the white chocolate cake and then at the end work in the final couple of steps from the white chocolate green tea cake.

By the way, here’s the green tea powder I used, I got it from an Asian store in the Bay Area, it’s quite expensive otherwise. They’re in individual packets listed at a weight of 2 grams each, which I believe is roughly half a teaspoon.IMG_0317

So, here’s how it went down.

White Chocolate Green Tea Cake

  • 1 1/4 cup of flour, sifted
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/4 cup of hot milk
  • 4 ounces white chocolate chopped or white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1/2 cup of white sugar
  • 2 large eggs, separated
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt
  • 4 grams green tea powder, two packs of powder in my case (About one teaspoon, I should’ve checked this in a measuring spoon, I will and get back to edit this)
  • Extra white chocolate for topping if desired

1. Grease and flour bundt pan. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Place white chocolate in a small bowl. Pour hot milk over until chocolate is melted and stir until mixture is smooth. Set aside for cooling.

3. Cream butter and sugar. Like so:

IMG_0305

4. Add egg yolks one at a time and mix. Add vanilla and melted white chocolate.

IMG_0306

5. Add flour and yogurt, alternating, beginning and ending with flour. Mix just until combined.

6. In clean mixing bowl whip two remaining egg whites until stiff peaks are formed. Fold into white chocolate batter 1/3 of mixture at a time. Note: This will require a second mixing bowl.

7. Pour 2/3 of your batter into bundt pan.

IMG_0307

8. Take green tea powder and mix into remaining batter. Pour remainder over first batter. Snake a knife through for a marble look or give it a little more stirring to mix it up some.

IMG_0308

9. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-35 minutes. Until knife or cake tester comes out clean.

10. Allow cake to cool in pan for about 15 minutes. Use knife to loosen edges prior to flipping over to cool completely.

11. Melt more white chocolate over the top and enjoy. Mine is rather messy, I tried to spread it on and made it look ugly, I needed more chocolate and for it to be more viscous. Or is that less viscous? I don’t know, it needed to be a smidge thinner to pour over the cake easily. You could also use powdered sugar, I suppose.

IMG_0311

Cut yourself a slice of that cake and once you get a taste you will find yourself in a state of nirvana. The white chocolate and green tea flavors go so well together you’ll wonder why you’d probably never seen them together before. Wonder no more. Plus, it looks so cool with, in my case a thin white chocolate layer with a nice green center. Yum.

IMG_0313

I hope you enjoy this one, make it look prettier than mine, but share it. Steal it and share it. This is a cake that I will definitely be making again, I love the green tea flavoring and in this cake it’s perfect. I hope you feel the same way.

Thanks for reading and come back for more another day. Get the updates via email or bookmark the page and come back. I try to update weekly if not more frequently. Until next time.

1 thought on “White Chocolate and Green Tea Cake

  1. Thin your white chocolate with paramount crystals, and for milk or dark chocolate use cocoa butter. Add it in after the chocolate is melted and stir thoroughly to prevent separation. Also, start out with only 1 TBSP per 14OZ of chocolate, add slightly more by the 1/2 tsp as needed.

Leave a comment