Oatmeal Pecan Cookies With White Chocolate Chips

This is the second part of the two oatmeal cookie recipes I posted today, the first one was the more creative one and involves chocolate covered pomegranate seeds, which you can find here. I’ve been away for a couple of weeks because of a number of reasons, so I’m back with two cookie recipes variations of the same basic recipe. I split the recipe in half at some point to make the two different batches of cookies, but what you will see is the entire recipe for a batch of roughly 24-30 cookies.

The basic recipe was taken from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen, which had a version with cranberries and white chocolate. (Sweet Pea’s recipe was adapted from a Bon Apetitrecipe, so we’re essentially playing the telephone game using recipes) This is the more straight forward recipe, though I tried to turn it on it’s head just a little bit by adding peanut butter, even though I’m not sure I could taste it that much.

In any case, I’ll get on with the recipe.

Oatmeal Pecan Cookies With White Chocolate Chips

Makes about two dozen cookies

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 of a teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 1/4 of a stick of unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of rolled oats or old-fashioned oats (I chose the former)
  • 1/3 of a cup of chopped pecans
  • 1/2 of a cup of white chocolate chips
  • Optional 1/2 cup of additional chocolate chips of your choice
  • Optional 1/2 cup of peanut butter

1. Heat your oven to 350 degrees. Ready two cookie sheets.

2. In a separate bowl mix flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

3. In a stand mixer cream the butter and sugars until smooth. Add vanilla and egg and mix up well.

4. Add oatmeal to creamed butter. Add flour mixture in two parts and mix well.IMG_0338

5. Add white chocolate chips and pecans along with optional chocolate chips. Mix it all up.

6. Scoop or spoon dough onto cookie sheets a couple of inches apart. Bake cookies one sheet at a time for 14-16 minutes each.

IMG_0346

7. Let cool for about five minutes and remove from cookie sheet to cool further. Enjoy with your favorite beverage that goes along with cookies, I’m a fan of the milk. (I heard The Milk is on tour right now opening for Pearl Jam…What?)Oatmeal Pecan Cookies With White Chocolate Chips

To be honest, I couldn’t really taste the peanut butter, but I know it was in there. Not sure if it was needed or not. I need to have another cookie or two before I decide. Winking smile  I was also out of plain chocolate chips to throw into the mixture because I got one cookie that didn’t have any white chocolate chips at all which I found oddly random.

So, there you have a couple of options for oatmeal cookies. Let me know which one you enjoyed more. As always thanks for reading and share this with your friends. Do what you gotta do to come back with the whole following deal, bookmark, subscribe to the email, blah, blah, blah. See you next time.

One thought on “Oatmeal Pecan Cookies With White Chocolate Chips

  1. Pingback: Oatmeal Pecan Cookies With Dark Chocolate Covered Pomegranate Seeds | Steal The Baking

Leave a Reply

